2017 Chancellor’s Award Recipients Announced

UW Colleges and UW-Extension Chancellor Cathy Sandeen presented 13 awards at the institutions’ annual Chancellor’s Awards event on September 21, 2017, in Madison. The awards recognize the exceptional teaching, outreach, collaborations and public service of both UW Colleges and UW-Extension employees, as well as valued partners and supporters.

“UW Colleges and UW-Extension employees and partners work statewide to provide innovative education and services to students, business owners, farmers and citizens in every industry across Wisconsin,” said Sandeen. “The Chancellor’s Awards recognize those individuals who’ve gone above and beyond in extending our mission to every corner of the state.”

Career Award

The Career Award honors a currently active employee whose UW Colleges or UW-Extension career has been marked by consistently outstanding contributions for more than a decade. The employee must have demonstrated sustained commitment, outstanding quality, strong leadership, innovation, resource stewardship, responsiveness to changing clientele or administrative support needs, excellent customer/client/student support or service, a commitment to diversity and inclusiveness or other significant contributions to the missions and future of our institutions during a career of excellence. This year’s recipients are:

· Scott Bouffleur – UW Colleges, Director of Distance Learning

· Mindy Habecker – UW-Extension, Community & Natural Resources Educator for Dane County Cooperative Extension

· Dean Kallenbach – UW-Extension, Wisconsin Public Radio Senior Regional Manager

· Dennis Lukaszewski – UW-Extension, Urban Agriculture Program Coordinator and Community Gardens Director for Milwaukee County Cooperative Extension


Award for Excellence

The Award for Excellence recognizes the outstanding performance of an individual or group in any of several areas, including outstanding contributions to the UW Colleges or UW-Extension missions or strategic priorities, sustained excellence in providing support, the development of innovative programs, outstanding teaching, successful programming or exceptional efforts to build public support for UW Colleges or UW-Extension. Those honored include:

· Gina Ferraro – UW-Extension, Financial Officer with the Division of Business & Entrepreneurship

· Caroline Geary – UW Colleges, Professor of Chemistry at UW-Fox Valley

· Ryan Schone – UW-Extension, Neighborhood Food Systems Coordinator for Milwaukee County Cooperative Extension

· Integration Work Group – UW-Extension, which includes Amber Canto, Jed Colquhoun, John deMontmollin, Carrie Edgar, Jeff Hoffman, Greg Johll, Julie Keown-Bomar, Karl Martin, Patrick Robinson, Ruth Schriefer and Heidi Zoreb


Wisconsin Idea Award

The Wisconsin Idea Award honors an individual, organization, group, project or program outside UW Colleges or UW-Extension that has made significant contributions to society, the economy, the environment or the quality of life at the local, state, national or international level through involvement with UW Colleges or UW-Extension. The winner of the Wisconsin Idea Award is:

· Tera Johnson – UW-Extension, founder of the Food Finance Institute with the Division of Business & Entrepreneurship


Inclusive Excellence and Diversity Award

The Inclusive Excellence and Diversity Award is presented to individuals or groups that have made an outstanding contribution to creating an inclusive and welcoming community at UW Colleges or UW-Extension by implementing an initiative or program in the classroom, workplace or campus community that fosters relationships that advance acceptance, appreciation, respect, diversity and inclusive excellence. This year’s recipients are:

· Amy Reddinger – UW Colleges, Associate Professor of English and the advisor of the Gay Straight Alliance at UW-Marinette

· BAMI Change Team – UW-Extension, which includes Philip Ashby, Alex Behnke, Jennifer Dargan, John Ibis, Sarah Jacobs, Erika Kachama-Nkoy, Andy Moore, Heather Reese, Jordan Siegler, Andrea Trungale, Alyssa Tsagong, Cynthia Woodland and Malcolm Brett, all with Broadcasting and Media Innovations


Friend and Advocate Award

The Friend and Advocate Award honors individuals or organizations outside UW Colleges and UW-Extension that have given substantial support to one or both institutions’ outreach mission at the local, state, national or international level. This may include program development and support, community or volunteer service, expanding access to UW Colleges or UW-Extension programs, enhancing diversity, building political support, involvement in fundraising or any other measure of outstanding service on behalf of the UW Colleges or UW-Extension missions. Those honored were:

· Jon Hochkammer – Wisconsin Counties Association Outreach Manager

· Really Big Prints Team – UW Colleges, the team is comprised of Berel Lutsky from UW-Manitowoc, Benjamin Rinehart from Lawrence University and Katie Ries from St. Norbert College


Congratulations to all of the award recipients! To see the presentation from the ceremony, click here.